Working Skyclad

The question was posed::

I feel like the media, in its many forms, makes a much bigger deal about working skyclad then Wiccans/Pagans actually do. First and foremost,  ritual work should be comfortable and if you are at a stage in your life where you are not comfortable being naked with yourself, then no one is going to make you. Personally, I think everyone should try a ritual skyclad, if for no reason other then the experience – but I’m getting ahead of my self.

So, what’s the point of working skyclad? The simple answer is that it’s natural. We’re born naked, and our bodies are actually quite adapted to function amazingly well in that state. The more complex answer is that being naked is a deep symbol. Being skyclad makes us vulnerable, and not just in a physical sense. You cannot hide behind your clothes or other adornments; the masks that we wear throughout our lives are stripped away (no pun intended) and we are left only with ourselves. No veils, no illusion – just self.

Here’s a response from owlsandankhs::

She makes a wonderful point about being able to accept yourself for who you are. Not only that, but accepting your body in its natural state. The American culture tells us that nakedness is always sexual,  sordid, and immoral as if something is inherently wrong with it. Not to mention that society tells us that only a few select body types can be “pretty” enough for nakedness. This really sickens me to the core. Yes, I’m a bigger woman, and yes, my body is just fine the way it is. That doesn’t mean I don’t care about my health or that I’m totally happy with my body. Are there things I’d like to change, sure, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t accept myself anyway.

And, of course, here’s my response in video form:

As I said, I really enjoy working skyclad and I think it’s something you can’t knock before trying. But in all honesty, it’s not for everyone, and that’s okay.

~Take care and Blessed be

Leave a Reply

