A Year and a Day

Now, I’ve been a practicing Wiccan for a long time – over 10 years, in fact. Most who come to Wicca go through a dedication period, either alone or with a coven. The generally accepted period of time is a year and a day. Mine was much different – there were 7 years between my dedication (age 9) and my self-initiation (age 16). I never have worked with, or been interested in working with a coven, so I wasn’t really confined to a year and a day format – obviously. During this time, I focused first on Esbats. Like many Wiccans, I found the Goddess to be fascinating. My first year, I actually didn’t formally celebrate any of the Sabbats. I just wasn’t ready for that. Eventually, I added the Sabbats as I became more and more comfortable and familiar with their meanings, their symbols, and their importance.

Timothy Roderick's year and a day guide

I began to wonder if I missed something by not using a year and a day format when I was maybe 14. After watching a few videos recently by ladylunaskyeβ€¬β€Ž I went back to wondering.

Well, I just decided to do it. I found a copy of Wicca: A Year and a Day from Amazon for pretty cheap. It showed up today in the mail and I’ve started diving in. I don’t know if I’ll write an entry for everyday, but I’ve started a hard copy journal. I’m excited to see what I can learn from this journey and to see how it interacts with the 2 year shamanic apprenticeship I’ll be starting in a few months.

So, I’ll be deepening my understanding of my path and I encourage everyone to do so from time to time – to go back to basics, so to speak, and remember the things we so often take for granted.

~Take care and Blessed be

Leave a Reply

