Prepairing for Workshop

This month, on the 29th, I’ll be leading a Rune Workshop at my local New Age shop. This is really exciting, but also the first time I’ll be teaching people about something. We’ll also be making a simple set of Runes that they can take home and use. If you ask me, it’s a pretty good deal.

Anyway, here’s the general of what I’ll be talking about:

My hand made clay Runes (not in order)

What are the Runes? – This will be a pretty short segment on the history of the Runes and of runes in general.

Odin and the Runes – This section of the workshop will be about the connection between the Runes and Odin, who in Norse mythology found and shared the Runes with humanity. This is just to give a little background for those who’ve never looked into the Runes

The Setup and Meanings of the Runes – This is where we will be creating the take home runestones. I will talk a little about the aettir, or rune rows then move on to the individual runes. As I read through each rune, we’ll create that runestone together. I have a feeling this will create a really powerful set!

How Can We Use the Runes? – A brief overview of different ways to use the Runes, including divination. I think introducing people to other uses, such as bindrunes and galdr, would be nice for those who have no experience so they don’t feel like they have no other use.

And at the end, I’ll offer a Q&A session and go over some recommendations for books, websites and Youtube channels. I’m seriously looking forward to this! I’ll be taking pictures too, and maybe make a tutorial on making a simple Rune set. Who knows?

~Take care and Blessed be

Leave a Reply

