Affirmations

Something I’ve been getting into using recently are affirmations – which are simply phrases said over and over again. It’s a kind of magic, really, if you ask me. Saying something (like “I am successful in everything I do”) over and over again, day in and day out, actually creates changes in how you think, act, and live. Generally, affirmations are stated in the positive (“My body craves healthy food”) instead of the negative (“My body does not crave junk food”) and I’ve heard three different reasons behind this. The first is that the universe doesn’t understand “not” or other negatives and basically these are ignored (so the above example becomes “My body does crave junk food”). This one seems a little weird to me – how does the universe not “understand” something? Hell if I know.

The second is that when the affirmations are said over and over again the negatives get lost in the repetition and the affirmation “morphs” into something else whereas a positive affirmation stays the same.  This makes a little more sense but it’s not nearly as logical as the third. Let’s take the example I’ve been using about junk food – if you were to repeat the phrase “my body does not crave junk food” over and over, day in and day out, what will you be thinking about? Junk food! The thing you’re trying to stay away from. Now, if you use “my body craves healthy foods” you’ll be thinking about healthy foods – makes a lot more sense, doesn’t it?

At the moment, I’m using affirmations to help be integrate my spiritual life

The mini wrist mala I use with my affirmations

back into my day to day life – something I’ve been having a lot of trouble with. Let me share my little ritual: At every meal, before I start eating, I recite my affirmations (often internally) using a handmade mini-wrist mala. The first is “my spiritual life is an integral part of my daily life”. I say this nine times, then go on to the second affirmation that I use: “my daily life is an integral part of my spiritual life”.

Do you use affirmations?

Leave a Reply

