Sudden Inspiration

I have been working, on and off, on creating my own tarot deck. For the better part of the past year, I’ve put this project on hold, but all of a sudden, I’ve been struck with inspiration. I’ve been working away not only on the companion book but also the deck.

Here’s a little from the book:

The Astral Twilight Tarot is the product of years of reading with other decks and not having one to really call my own. Not to imply that the only way to connect to a deck to to create it; I own many decks, and love them all. Rather, this is my creations, my way to give back to the community that has given me so much. As you will see, this deck contains traditional depictions with a modern twist – my everyday life does not involve kings, angels, or (visible) hands of God. So with this deck, I’ve set out to capture the myth and magic of the Tarot using real, tangible images. Certainly this deck is not the first to do so, but it is sill an uncommon approach in the Tarot world.

I’ve decided to take people from my own life and cast them in the Tarot Court and take images and figures that inspire me and shape them to the Major Arcana. So far, I’m loving it.

Here’s a sample card – The Star:

(c) Amanda Burke

My take on the Star

My version of the Star is an image of the Pleiades star cluster. This particular image has been “turned on it’s side”, creating a cross (or arrow) with the stars, which I feel fits the idea of the Star.

Leave a Reply

