Runes 101, Anyone?

I’ve decided to start a little Rune study – it’s never a bad idea to go over the basics. I doubt this will be 24 consecutive days, as I’m in the middle of the semester at school and therefore, am crazy busy. So I wanted to start with the Runes as a whole.

To me, the Runes are a system – a system of magic, of divination, of letters. I like systems, they flow and work together, they speak and sing and shout their story if you’re there to listen. “Rune” itself derives from Old Norse and Old German words meaning “secret” and “whisper” and that helps understand how the Runes communicate with me.  They whisper their secrets to me as I cast them, as I read them, as I write them.

It’s somewhat difficult to put into words my connection with the Runes. I can’t help but feel that long ago my ancestors worked with the Runes: read them, spoke them, lived them. Or perhaps in a past life this soul was that of vitki (wise one) or volva (shamanic seeress).

Leave a Reply

