Ordeal of Odin – Day one

First things first – I’ve felt called to do my ritual in the morning rather then the evening – which I think works out better with my neighbors and their oodles of children. Something simple and less structured then in the past. Today, I did remember to stop and grab a bottle of mead for offering and made sure I know where my copy of the Poetic Edda is. I also did some reading in the Völva Stav Manual by Kari Tauring (I will have to write more about this latter) to inspire my ritual and get me in the right space. Last year was about feeling a call to Odin – this year is about claiming and reclaiming power, I think.

So, come morning, if I’m up as early as planned, I’ll be able to do my ritual outside before sunrise – not sure why but that feels right.

Also tomorrow I face perhaps the most challenging day of this ordeal – my troupe is dancing at an Art & Wine Walk event tomorrow, with a group rehearsal before hand. I imagine I’ll be able to handle everything fine; just have to remember lots of water and perhaps some juice if I’m low on energy.

The first day felt fairly low-key, which in a way feels right. I’m feeling more settled in this time around then I did last year.

2 thoughts on “Ordeal of Odin – Day one

  1. This is a good idea that is starting your day on the right footing. Putting a few minutes into runic thinking is also a great way to set the day in the right direction.

    • Agreed! I’ve gotten into the habit of always doing ritual work at night – a left over from when I was younger and that was the only time I had where I could be alone. It’s taken me a while to realize that there are, in fact, other options.

Leave a Reply

